Thursday, March 10, 2022

    List of Public Holidays for 2079 B.S. (2022-2023) in Nepal

     Government of Nepal ,Ministry of Home Affairs has published the number of public holidays for 2079 BS that will begin on 1st Baisakh 2079 (April 14, 2022).

    The government has fixed public holidays other than 51 Saturdays for Nepali year of 2079 BS including the regional and religious specified holidays.

    According to a notification published by the Ministry of Home Affairs in the Nepal Gazett , there will be public holidays for Six days during Dashain and Five days during Tihar. For dashain, there are six days of public holidays from  Ashoj 16 to Ashoj 21 starting with Phulpati till Duadashi. Likewise, for Tihar, there are five days of holidays from 7 Kartik to 11 Kartik, on the days of Laxmi Puja, followed by Gai Tihar, Mha Puja, Nepal Sambat New Year, Goverdhan Puja and Bhaitika/ Kija Puja .

    There will be a nationwide holiday on Rakshya Bandhan, which falls on Shrawan 27, Maghe Sankranti on Magh 01, Krishna Janmasthami which falls on Bhadra 03.

    Other public holidays include Nepali New Year day, Buddha Jayanti, Mahashivaratri, Holi, International Workers’ Day, Constitution Day and International Women’s Day, which will be applicable to all.

    Festival holidays for Ubhauli, Gaura Parva, Eid ulFitr, Chhath, Bakra Eid, Christmas, Tamu Lhosar, Maghe Sankranti, Sonam Lhosar, Gyalpo Lhosar, Sirwa Pawani and Dawathambu Chheuchik will be granted to people or groups from the concerned communities and religions.

    Only women will be entitled to public holidays on Teej and Jitiya Parva. There will be public holidays on Basant Panchami for educational institutions, whereas four holidays (Gai Jatra, Indra Jatra, Matsyendranath Festival and Ghode Jatra) are meant only for Kathmandu valley. Similarly, Kirant community and Sikh community will get public holiday for celebration of Falgunananda Jayanti and Guru Nanak Jayanti, respectively.