Monday, February 3, 2014

    Australia Awards Scholarships: Nepal Intake Commencing Academic Year 2015

    Program overview
    Australia’s international development assistance in Nepal aims to alleviate poverty and provide a peace dividend by focusing on service delivery in health and education sectors, and by providing jobs through micro-enterprise development. Most of Australia's assistance to Nepal is delivered through the Government of Nepal and in partnership with other donors and multilateral organisations. Scholarships to study in Australia are a key element of Australia’s support and integral to the Australian Government’s development cooperation across South Asia.

    Australia Awards Scholarships are prestigious international awards offered by the Australian Government to the next generation of global leaders for development. Through study and research, recipients develop the skills and knowledge to drive change and help build enduring people-to-people links with Australia.

    Applicants will be assessed for their professional and personal qualities, academic competence and, most importantly, their potential to impact on development challenges in Nepal. Applications are strongly encouraged from eligible women, people with disability and people from traditionally marginalised groups and remote regions of Nepal.
    Priority fields of study

    The priority areas of study for Nepal are:
    > Health
    > Education
    > Livelihoods/Poverty Alleviation (focusing on microenterprise development)
    > Governance (Economics, Public Policy and Public Financial Management)
    > Water Resource Management (for Master’s level of study only). Click here for more information.

    Australia Awards Scholarships will also be open to applicants from the Government of Nepal in the field of International Relations.

    Australia Awards Scholarships
    In Nepal, the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT) manages the Australia Awards Scholarships on behalf of the Government of Australia. Australia Awards Scholarships are long term study and professional development opportunities available to qualified people from Nepal to study full-time in Australia. They equip scholars with skills and knowledge to drive change and influence development outcomes in Nepal. These long-term scholarships were previously known as Australian Development Scholarships.

    Selection for these Awards is based on merit, academic achievement and the relevance of proposed study programs to development priorities agreed between the governments of Australia and Nepal. Applications from eligible women, people with disabilities and traditionally marginalised groups are strongly encouraged.

    Applications for Master’s and PhD studies for the intake commencing academic year 2015 close at 5pm (Kathmandu time) on 30 April 2014. Applications received after this time will not be accepted.

    Applicants are encouraged to complete their application online at For assistance, contact the Australia Awards Office Nepal.

    Eligibility criteria
    Applicants must meet all eligibility requirements detailed in the Australia Awards Scholarships Policy Handbook, available at:

    Applicants must also meet the following specific requirements for Nepal:
        All applicants will require the following English language test results:
        (i) an Academic International English Language Testing System (IELTS Academic) score average of 6.5 or above (with no individual band less than 6.0); OR
        (ii) a paper-based Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) overall score of at least 580, with a minimum of 4.5 in the test of written English, OR
        (iii) an internet-based TOEFL score of at least 92, with a minimum of 21 in all subtests, OR
        (iv) Pearson Test of English Academic (PTE Academic) overall score of 58 with no communicative skill score less than 50
        The English language test results must be valid at 1 January 2015 (IELTS, TOEFL scores, and PTE Academic are valid for two years after the test date)
        Where an institution’s academic English language requirement is higher than those detailed above, the awardee must meet the institution’s requirement
        Applications from women, people with disabilities and members of traditionally marginalised groups will be considered for eligibility with an IELTS (Academic) overall score of 6.5 or above (with no individual band less than 5.0) or an equivalent TOEFL paper-based/internet based or PTE Academic test score. However, if they are offered an Australia Awards Scholarship, they must meet the English language requirement of their course
        Have at least three years’ work experience relevant to a nominated field of study.

    Special conditions:Applicants from Nepal must meet the following country special conditions:
    > Applicants from the public sector who are nominated by the Government of Nepal must have their nominations submitted to the Australian Embassy in Kathmandu by the Nepalese Ministry of Finance
    > Applicants wishing to study a Masters by Research or a PhD must identify a potential supervisor. Note: Scholarships in the Water Resource Management priority area are available at Master’s level only
    > Recipients of Awards must return to Nepal for at least two years after completing their studies
    > Awards offered for 2015 must be taken in that year. They cannot be transferred to a future year.

    click the link below for more details:
    Australia Awards Scholarships: Nepal Intake Commencing Academic Year 2015